Hat for Baby Sister

IMG_9789

A little hat for the baby, I don’t want one of those striped hospital hats on her (fingers crossed that won’t even be a possibility) and even the commercially bought ones we have are OK, but I wanted something unique and made with love on her head for the first time.  I’ve been looking at a lot of newborn baby photos lately, and the ones wearing handknits definitely seem to be the most peaceful to me!  The yarn is Knit One, Crochet Two Nautika.  It is acrylic, which I am not in love with, but very soft.  I may yet make another one out of cotton for her first wear.  Being born in August means she likely won’t wear it much and any kind of wool is definitely a no-no.

IMG_9787

The pattern is Kate Gilbert’s Shining Star hat.  I love the idea of a little star on the top of her head.

IMG_9788

Fingers crossed it fits!

Leave a Reply

