Rainbow Blankie for Baby Sister

This one was actually finished a little while ago too.  I have two blog posts and keeping up with this is already a challenge!  Anyway, enough excuses…

Image

I knit it with Knit Picks’ Shine Worsted, which is the same yarn I used for B’s baby blanket, except hers was in sport weight.  I like this yarn a lot.  It is cheap, machine washable and dryable and comes in great colors.

IMG_9673 IMG_9679 IMG_9680 IMG_9688

B is particularly taken with this blankie.  Maybe it will be poached, who knows?  It is super cute on her!  The pattern is the Pinwheel Blanket, which was available for free on the internet, but now seems to be down 😦  I had aspirations of making flower-themed versions of this blanket; knitting a brown/variegated center and then shades of yellow outwards for a sunflower effect, or a black center with white and then shades of red radiating out to look like  a poppy, etc.

One day, perhaps.

IMG_9690

For now I am happy with how this one came out.  It needs washing and blocking before baby comes.  I would like to wrap her in it once she’s born.

I was also pleased with my yarn rationing.  Cut tails from the ball changes/color changes and the remainder left over after casting off. I suppose this last tidbit is only interesting if you are a real knitting enthusiast.  Even then, that might be a stretch!

IMG_9691

One thought on “Rainbow Blankie for Baby Sister

  1. What a lovely blanket!! I am especially impressed with how little yarn you had left over at the end.

    I would be surprised if baby sister gets any time with the blanket considering how B is about her things…

Leave a Reply

